Section 5 of the Public Officers (Declaration of Assets, Liabilities and Business Interests) Act, 2013, requires all the listed public officers in the First Schedule of the said Act to submit declarations to the Director of Public Officers' Declarations. To this effect, you will recall that pursuant to Section 25 of the Act, on 1st October, 2014, I gave Notice to all the Listed Public Officers requiring each one of them to submit a duly completed and signed Initial Declaration Form not later than 31st December, 2014.

In this regard, now that the deadline of 31st December, 2014 has passed, and in order to facilitate speedy processing of declarations and subsequent reconciliation of  the same after the declarations, I, pursuant to Section 12 of the Act, wish to request all Principal Secretaries; all Chief Executive Officers for Parastatal or Statutory Organizations; all Chief Executive Officers and District Commissioners for City, Town and District Councils; and all Heads of Government Oversight Institutions, to submit to the Director lists of all listed public officers under their supervision or in their institution, by name, designation, grade and duty station, as of the date of the submission of the Declaration.

You are further requested to indicate if there have been changes to the officers’ status in terms of designation, grade and duty station since the initial declaration. Information on new appointments to, dismissal, reassignment or retirement from listed public office should also be notified to the Director within thirty days from the date of such occurrence. Attached to this Circular is a sample form to be used when submitting the information.

For the purposes of identifying listed public officers, please, find annexed to this Circular the First Schedule under Section 5 of the Act. It is also worth noting that in order to properly capture the right public officers in line with the spirit and objective of the law establishing the public officers declaration regime, item 37 of the Schedule should be understood and applied taking into account the nature and structure of an organization, and not necessarily the terminology.  This will ensure that all equivalents of Director and Heads of Department within a particular ministry, department, agency or institution are included.

The said information on the listed public officers is supposed to be submitted to the Director by Friday, 27th February, 2015, at the Directorate's offices located within the Episcopal Conference of Malawi Catholic Secretariat Office Complex, Area 11, Off Chimutu Road, City Centre, Lilongwe, or through This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

I should be grateful if the contents of this Circular are brought to the attention of all the relevant officers in your institutions.






  1. President
  2. Vice President
  3. Speaker and Deputy Speakers of the National Assembly
  4. Cabinet Minister
  5. Members of Parliament
  6. Leader and Treasurer of a political party represented in Parliament
  7. Mayor and Councillors of City Councils
  8. Councillors of District and Town Councils




  1. Chief Justice
  2. Attorney General
  3. Secretary to the Cabinet
  4. Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet
  5. Judges of the High Court of Malawi and Justices of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Appeal
  6. Solicitor General
  7. Law Commissioner
  8. Ombudsman
  9. High Court and Supreme Court of Appeal Registrar
  10. Director of Public Prosecutions
  11. Director and Deputy Director of the Anti-Corruption Bureau
  12. Director of the Office of Public Officers’ Declarations
  13. Inspector General of Police and senior officers of the rank of Superintendent and above
  14. Chancellor and Vice Chancellor of a public University
  15. Registrar of a public University and Finance Officers
  16. Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner of Prisons and officers in charge of prison stations
  17. Chief Immigration Officer
  18. Auditor General
  19. Director of Public Procurement and Deputy Director of Public Procurement
  20. Commissioner General and Deputy Commissioner General of the Malawi Revenue Authority
  21. District Commissioners and Assistant District Commissioners
  22. Army Commander, Deputy Army Commander and senior officer of the rank of Major and above
  23. Administrator General
  24. Registrar General
  25. Principal Secretaries and their Deputies
  26. Chairperson, Board Members, Chief Executive and Deputy Chief Executive of a public body, parastatal, constitutional bodies and all other statutory bodies set up by an Act of Parliament
  27. Governor, Deputy Governor, Director and Manager of the Reserve Bank of Malawi
  28. Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive of City, District and Town Councils
  29. Senior public officers of the grade equivalent to Director and Heads of Department



  1. Judicial officers
  2. Procurement officers
  3. Officers in the Road Traffic Department
  4. Officers of the Malawi Revenue Authority
  5. Immigration officers
  6. State Advocates, Legal Aid Advocates and all public prosecutors
  7. Police Traffic Officers and investigative officers
  8. Advisor to the President and Vice President
  9. Advisor to a Cabinet Minister
  10. Accounting personnel
  11. Officers of the Anti-Corruption Bureau
  12. Officers of the Office of Director of Public Procurement

Dated this 19th day of January, 2015

Christopher Tukula

Copyright © 2014. The Office of the Director of Public Officers’ Declarations. All rights reserved. 

Go to top